Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Recent Important Appellate Decisions for Personal Injury LawyersRegister Here

Cobb County Car Accident Lawyers

In the aftermath of an accident, it can be difficult to handle your everyday activities while recovering. Even if you have been in a small car accident, you may be facing property damage and the need for a rental car while yours is being repaired. With a major car accident, you may also be dealing with physical injuries, along with medical bills and lost wages. This is where a skilled personal injury attorney could help.

A Cobb County car accident lawyer could help you determine what compensation you are entitled to and how you should handle insurance companies.

What Should be the First Steps After a Car Accident?

After any urgent medical needs are addressed, motorists who have been in a car accident should obtain information about the other drivers involved including the driver’s name and insurance information. It is also helpful to take pictures of the accident scene, especially property damage and any hazards that might have played a part. If there were witnesses, their contact information should be collected.

In addition, Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 40-6-273 requires drivers to report car accidents with damage totaling more than $500, and/or resulting in injury or death, to local law enforcement.

Car Accident Law in Cobb County

Title 49 of the Georgia Code outlines the rules of the road in the state. Drivers who violate Georgia traffic laws, as well as those who are driving carelessly or recklessly and cause an accident, may be held financially responsible for the damages they cause.

Compensation After a Car Accident

Car accidents and their subsequent injuries can be costly. In addition, being in a car accident can be a traumatic experience. A Cobb County auto collision lawyer could help explain the compensation available, including:

  • Medical bills;
  • Rehabilitation services;
  • Repair expenses;
  • Rental car expenses;
  • Lost income; and
  • Pain and suffering.

For those who tragically lose a loved one in an accident or who suffer catastrophic injuries that cause physical or cognitive disabilities, they might be able to secure additional compensation. Further, if a driver acts recklessly, such as driving while impaired, and causes a car accident, they may be ordered to pay up to $250,000 in punitive damages.

Car Accident Statute of Limitations

Filing a lawsuit for car accident damages is subject to a deadline, also called a statute of limitations, which a local car accident attorney could keep track of. Claims for personal injury have a two-year statute of limitations that starts running on the day that the car accident occurred. Legal claims for property damage caused by a car accident, including car repairs, are subject to a four-year statute of limitations.

Negotiating with Insurance Companies

Dealing with insurance companies can be a frustrating experience after a car accident. Insurance companies are a business with a bottom line and do not want to pay more on a car accident claim then they have to. Unfortunately, this may mean those in a car accident are offered less than they need to cover their expenses. A lawyer could take the lead in these negotiations and work towards a fair settlement.

Contact a Cobb County Car Accident Lawyer Today

It can be overwhelming to deal with the legal process while you are physically recovering and trying to manage your family’s financial situation. If you are struggling to handle medical bills, insurance companies, and your recovery, consider contacting a Cobb County car accident lawyer. We can help you understand the compensation that may be available to you and fight for the justice that you deserve.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2022 - 2024 Shiver Hamilton Campbell. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.